Vegetarian Softgel Capsules vs Gelatin Softgel Capsules
When you learn about CBD Capsules and softgels, you’ll find that many types of capsules exist for pharmaceuticals and supplements. Capsules have traditionally been made with bovine gelatin which comes from animal byproducts and is the cheapest material available. Specifically, most capsules contain collagen – a protein from the connective tissues of cattle. While its low cost is beneficial for manufacturers, gelatin capsules do not hold liquids (CBD oil, for example) as well as other materials and are often avoided due to various religious and dietary restrictions.
In recent years, vegetarian and vegan CBD capsule and softgel options have emerged. Vegan capsules are made from cellulose – a plant fiber which is safe to ingest – and contain no animal bypriducts. These capsules are ideal for making CBD softgels. They are durable, shelf-stable, and accessible to a growing number of CBD manufacturers. At Beyond Botanicals, all of our CBD Capsules are Softgels – vegan and 100% natural. This means that whether you have dietary, ethical or religious restrictions on animal products, our CBD Gel Capsules will be safe and appropriate for you. Cellulose softgels also have a longer shelf-life, which means you’ll have fresher CBD available for longer period of time.